Finding Humility In The 21st Century

Thought Catalog

image - Flickr / super awesome image – Flickr / super awesome

I was on Facebook recently when I stumbled across a particularly nasty political meme. It showed a group of armed nazis with accompanying text that conflated the U.S. gun control debate with the Holocaust. That meme didn’t sit well. I typed out a hostile reply and slammed the enter key.

Several hours later I got the reply I wasn’t looking for: “I think you’re right,” the Facebook offender said. “I’ll be more careful before I post something next time.”

I was dumbfounded. I expected a fight and got unconditional surrender. And suddenly, I felt bad—like a bully. I need not have though. His post was offensive. In his reply, however, my Facebook friend did something few can: he admitted his own wrong. He was humble. This is not the traditional definition of humility (I’ll get to that soon). But it’s an important part of…

View original post 482 more words

Leave a Reply

